One Off

Vowel Movement was a one off collaboration between new wave/punk artist Holly Vincent (Holly & the Italians, the Oblivious) and Concrete Blonde’s Johnette Napolitano.

Low-key and lo-fi the album provided a chance for the duo to return to their punk roots, but that very lo-finess accounts, in part, for the fact that some tracks, musically or lyrically, have a certain unfinished feel to them.

Sometimes the sum is not greater than the parts and Vowel Movement is case in point, and while Individually their work outshines their collaborative effort this album warrants a listen.   






Vowel Movement (Cass, CD) Mammoth Records 1995  



“Jesus” Audio CD ‎(CD) Audio (Magazine) 1995    
“Dinosaur” Longitudes & Latitudes Mammoth Educational Series Spring 1995 ‎(CD) Mammoth Records 1995 


 Vowel Movement (1995)

Playing time: 41:19


vowel movement

1. Dinosaur (3:20)
2. Hitchhiker (1:55)
3. Frank (6:09)
4. When We Collide (4:53)
5. I Don’t Wanna (1:22)
6. Las Vegas (2:31)
7. Death Of A Surfer (4:04)
8. Vowel Movement (A-E-I-O-U) (4:14)
9. Ohohoh (1:45)
10. Jackie Baby (1:17)
11. Gecko (3:41)
12. Jesus (2:23)
13. Tiny Music (1:38)
14. Jackie Baby (Extended Version) (2:07)


Buy from Vowel Movement 


Powered by Windows Live Writer


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s