The Industrial Evolution began with a Small Factory

Perhaps no group captures the brilliance and energy of the American indie rock experience like Providence Rhode Island based Small Factory . The groups’ combination of innocence and abandon, tuneless but artful vocals and indelible melodies perfectly captures the tenor of those times.

Formed in 1991 the group consisted of singer/bassist Alex Kemp, singer/guitarist Dave Auchenbach, and singer/drummer Phoebe Summersquash. A strong local following lead to an appearance at the Lotsa-Pop-Losers festival in Washington, D.C., and a series of British dates opening for Heavenly, and an extended American tour opening for Fudge and the Dambuilders.

From their formation in 1991 until the release of their 1993 debut LP, I Do Not Love You the groups’ recorded output consisted of “The Giant Merry-Go-Round” released on a flexi-disc by the fanzine “The Milky Way”. The end of 1991 saw the release of their first proper single “Suggestions” on Collision Time Records. Spring 1992 saw the release of the single “What to Want” on Slumberland. The summer of 1993 saw the release of “So What About Love” on Pop Narcotic and later that year “If You Hurt Me” the highlight of the Simple Machines label’s Working Holiday singles series.

The group disbanded in 1995 with with Kemp and Summersquash forming the Godrays and Auchenbach joining Flora Street. 1996 saw Pop Narcotic release a singles compilation The Industrial Evolution.

I Do Not Love You (Spin Art, 1993)

Playing Time: 48 minutes 57 seconds

I Do Not Love You

1. I’m Not Giving Up (3:18)
2. Keep on Smiling (2:57)
3. What to Want (2:28)
4. What Angels Say (2:21)
5. Our Deseret (1:28)
6. Valentine (3:20)
7. Lots to Do (2:43)
8. Pretending It’s Sunny (4:38)
9. All Your Reasons (3:12)
10. Come Back Down (2:44)
11. Friends (2:54)
12. Junky on a Good Day (8:48)
13. [untitled] (8:06)

Download I Do Not Love You

Buy I Do Not Love You from

For If You Can Not Fly (Vernon Yard, 1994)

Playing Time: 36 minutes 34 seconds

For If You Can Not Fly

1. The Last Time That We Talked (2:30)
2. Expiration Date (2:53)
3. Hi Howard I’m Back (3:48)
4. Sensible (4:46)
5. Everyone’s Happy for the First Time in Weeks (3:31)
6. Versus Tape (2:55)
7. The Bright Side (2:11)
8. Sun Goes Ahh (3:48)
9. Three Months Later (2:43)
10. For When You Cannot Land (3:49)
11. Sixteen Years (3:40)

Download For If You Cannot Fly

Buy For If You Cannot Fly from

The Industrial Evolution (Pop Narcotic, 1996)

Playing Time: 41 minutes 13 seconds

Industrial Evolution Cover

1. Suggestions (2:42)
2. Happy To See (2:13)
3. Not Afraid (2:17)
4. What To Want (2:21)
5. Here You Come (2:12)
6. The Giant Merry Go Round (1:52)
7. Hey Lucille (3:21)
8. If You Hurt Me (4:38)
9. So What About Love? (3:30)
10. We Will (3:01)
11. Yeah (2:20)
12. Hopefully (3:20)
13. Lose Your Way (4:13)
14. Scared Of Love (3:13)

Download Industrial Evolution

Buy Industrial Evolution from

Industrial Evolution rear cover

One response to “The Industrial Evolution began with a Small Factory

  1. Hi I found this page via a google search for +”small factory” +”industrial evolution”. I love both Small Factory albums and have been searching for their singles comp forever (I have lots of the original 7″s). I tried to buy it when it first came out but I think Pop Narcotic stopped pretty much at the same time, and all my searching has been pretty much fruitless. If you know anyone selling a used copy let me know!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s